You're reading the documentation for a version of ROS 2 that has reached its EOL (end-of-life), and is no longer officially supported. If you want up-to-date information, please have a look at Iron.

Project Governance

Technical Steering Committee (TSC)

Since the beginning of ROS, the project has been overseen and prioritized primarily by one organization, first Willow Garage and now Open Robotics. That approach has worked well enough, as evidenced by the widespread adoption of ROS around the world.

But with ROS 2, we want to broaden participation to accelerate ROS 2 delivery, starting with these areas: determining the roadmap, developing core tools and libraries, and establishing working groups to focus on important topics. To that end, we’ve established a Technical Steering Committee (TSC). As described in the charter, the TSC comprises representatives of organizations that are contributing to the development of ROS 2, and it has the responsibility to set the technical direction for the project.

Packages relevant to this ROS 2 TSC are listed in REP 2005.

Meeting notes can be found on ROS Discourse.

The current members of the ROS 2 TSC are (23 as of 2022-02-01):

ADLINK Technology logo

ADLINK Technology: Angelo Corsaro

Amazon logo

Amazon: Camilo Buscaron

Apex.AI logo

Apex.AI: Lyle Johnson

Bosch logo

Bosch: Ralph Lange

Ubuntu logo

Canonical: Jeremie Deray

eProsima logo

eProsima: Jaime Martin Losa

GVSC logo

GVSC: Jerry Towler (SwRI)

Intel logo

Intel: Harold Yang

iRobot logo

iRobot: Alberto Soragna

Microsoft logo

Microsoft: Lou Amadio

Open Robotics logo

Open Robotics: Chris Lalancette

PickNik logo

PickNik: Henning Kayser



ROS Industriallogo

ROS-Industrial: Matt Robinson

Samsung logo

Samsung: Steven Macenski

Sony logo

Sony: Tomoya Fujita

TRI logo

Toyota Research Institute: Ian McMahon

Wind River logo

Wind River: Andrei Kholodnyi

Foxglove logo

Foxglove: Adrian Macneil

ROS 2 logo

Community Representative: Oliver Michel

ROS 2 logo

Community Representative: Patrick Musau

ROS 2 logo

Community Representative: Brett Aldrich

If you are interested in joining the ROS 2 TSC, please inquire via

Working Groups (WGs)

As described in its charter, the TSC establishes working groups (WGs) to discuss and make progress on specific topics.

The current WGs are (12 as of 2021-01-12):

Client Libraries

  • Lead(s): Geoffrey Biggs, Alberto Soragna

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Bence Magyar

  • Resources:

Edge AI

  • Lead(s): TBD

  • Resources:

Embedded Systems

  • Lead(s): Lara Moreno, Pablo Garrido

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): William Woodall

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Dave Coleman, Mark Moll

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Andrei Kholodnyi, Carlos San Vicente

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Geoffrey Biggs

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Jeremie Deray

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Emerson Knapp

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Emerson Knapp

  • Resources:

Community Working Groups

The ROS 2 TSC is interested in encouraging and promoting working groups outside its direct purview. To provide extra visibility the TSC maintains a list of the community driven working groups here as well as working with the community to provide them with the same infrastructure.

Hardware Acceleration

  • Lead(s): Víctor Mayoral Vilches

  • Resources:


  • Lead(s): Esteve Fernandez, Jacob Hassold

  • Resources:

If you’d like to join an existing ROS 2 WG, please contact the appropriate group lead(s) directly. If you’d like to create a new WG, please inquire via

Working Group Policies

  • Meetings should be posted to the Google calendar as well as announced on Discourse.

  • Meetings should have notes and be posted to Discourse using appropriate working group tag.

  • For attending the groups meetings please join the associated google group to get invites automatically.

Upcoming ROS Events

Upcoming Working group meetings can be found in this Google Calendar. It can be accessed via iCal.

If you have an individual event or series of events that you’d like to post please contact